2014 Legal Aid Department Annual Report
print
Main Page
Vision, Mission & Values
Foreward
Departmantal Strategic Plan
Legal Aid Service
Case of Public Interest or Concern
Customer Service
Publicity Programmes
Organistion, Administration and Staffing
Appendicies
     
  Chapter 6  
Organisation, Administration and Staffing
 

The Department has three Divisions, namely the Application and Processing Division, the Litigation Division and the Policy and Administration Division, each headed by a Deputy Director. The organisation chart can be found at the departmental website at http://www.lad.gov.hk/eng/ginfo/oo.html.

 
  Ms Alice Chung Yee-ling
Deputy Director of Legal Aid
(Policy and Administration)
 

Staffing

At the end of 2014, the Department had 527 staff members comprising 76 professional officers, 165 law clerks and 286 supporting staff which included three newly recruited Legal Aid Counsel and 11 Law Clerks.

 

Training and Development

The Department is committed to developing and maintaining a highly-motivated and professional work team to provide quality services to our customers. Every year the Department arranges various general and professional training courses for our staff of all levels to equip them with the latest knowledge and skills needed to face the challenges ahead. The Training Unit, which is headed by a Senior Training Officer, is responsible for formulating, implementing and reviewing the Department's training and development policies and plans to meet the operational and development needs of staff.
 

Professional Training

The Department organises in-house job-related training to keep our professional officers abreast of the changes and development in the relevant legislation and law. In 2014, two courses, namely, How to Conduct Means Tests and Briefing on New Companies Ordinance were organised with an attendance of 66 officers.

In addition, the Department also sponsored 38 professional officers to attend external seminars such as Family Practice, Past, Present and Future – a Veteran Point of View, Recent Statutory Changes to Hong Kong’s Law of Trust, Law Reform Law Reform – Isn’t the Law Bad Enough as it is, General Session on Civil Justice Reform, Civil Justice Reform, Co-parenting Intervention in High Conflict Child Custody Cases, Updates on the Law Relating to Contentious Probate and Administration of Estates, Mediation Forum: What are the Success Factors, Mediate First for a Win-win Solution, Overview of the Trade Descriptions (Unfair Trade Practices (Amendment) Ordinance), Exercise of Discretion and Nature and Limits of Judicial Review, Grounds for Judicial Review – Illegality and Constitutional Challenge, Process of Judicial Review and Remedies, Recent Development in Judicial Review, and Recent Development of Judicial Review and the Proposed Reform in the UK.

 

Management Training Courses

To strengthen staff's management capability, 25 professional officers were arranged to attend management courses organised by the Civil Service Training and Development Institute, Civil Service Bureau (CSTDI, CSB) and external institutes. Courses included People Management in the Public Sector, Persuasion and Influencing, The Art and Science of Negotiation, Conducting Selection Interview, Getting the Most from the Social Media, Building Public Trust through Social Media, Effective Communication with Mainland Officials, Programme on Envisioning the Future City, Performance Appraisal Writing, Performance Management System in the Civil Service, Strategies of Negotiation in Guiguzi, Workshop on Impromptu Talk, Improving Managerial Effectiveness and Leadership Excellence.

Three professional officers were nominated to attend executive development programmes organised by CSTDI, CSB, namely Advanced Leadership Enhancement Programme, Leadership in Action and Innovative Leaders Programme.

 

Customer Service Training

The Department places great importance in nurturing a custom-focused culture. To enhance staff's skills in delivering quality service to the public, the Department organised an in-house training course on Answering Enquiries with Heart and Tact. Three classes were conduced, with an attendance of 72 staff members. Furthermore, the Department sponsored staff of different ranks to attend relevant courses held by CSTDI, CSB and external institutes. In 2014, training courses covering a wide variety of topics connected with customer service were arranged for staff. 58 staff members, including general grade staff, attended the following courses, namely, Complaint Management, Handling Customer Complaints, Driving Service Excellence through Effective Complaint Management, Service with heart Seminar on Engaging Staff for Success, Customer Service Skills on the Telephone, Quality Customer Service, Sign Language for Frontline Staff, and Skills to Engage Customers with Psychotic Disorder in the Workplace.

 

Staff Well-being and General Training

The Department is committed to promoting staff well-being. In 2014, four workshops on Chinese Dietary Therapy for Managing Stress were organised and attended by 157 staff members.

Besides, two courses on Safe Use of Display Screen Equipment and Manual Lifting and Handling were organised to raise staff’s awareness of occupational safety and health.

In July 2014, an induction class was conducted for newly joined staff of all grades to familiarise themselves with the Department’s goals, core values and policies.

In addition, the Department nominated 196 staff members to attend courses and seminars on a wide range of topics such as civil service values, official writing, first aid, stress management, Basic Law, Putonghua, occupational safety, equal opportunities, information technology, knowledge management, Store and Procurement Regulations, and records management organised by the CSTDI, CSB, other departments and external institutes.

Regarding National Studies training, seven professional officers attended programmes held at Chinese Academy of Governance, Jinan University, Nanking University and Zhejiang University respectively.


Promoting Self-Learning and Development: In-house Learning Resource Centre

To cultivate the culture of continuous self-learning, the Department continues to purchase books for loan by staff. In 2014, a total of 35 books were added to the Learning Resource Centre. The collection has been expanded to include a wide range of categories such as management, communication, language, national studies, personal development, positive thinking, stress management and healthy lifestyle.

To facilitate easy access to self-learning materials by staff, resources on IT tips, use of Chinese as well as reference materials of in-house training courses were uploaded onto the departmental portal. Staff can also have direct access to CLC Plus, the e-learning portal for all civil servants, which contains a great variety of self-learning resources, toolkits and job aids on management, language, communication and information technology. As at end of 2014, 287 staff members have registered as CLC Plus members.

 

Information Systems

The Department places great importance to update its IT infrastructure and office automation facilities to facilitate prompt and efficient delivery of legal aid services to the public.

The Department's Case Management and Case Accounting System (CM&CAS) supports over 500 staff users in handling day-to-day legal aid business processes such as processing applications, monitoring assigned out cases, and handling legal aid payments. In 2014, the CM&CAS was further enhanced to facilitate staff members of civil litigation units to submit declaration of conflict of interest electronically.

To facilitate effective case assignment to panel lawyers, the CM&CAS will be modified to send regular reminder letters to panel lawyers who have not updated their profile in the last 3 years. The enhancement is targeted to be implemented in 2015.

The Legal Aid Electronic Services Portal (LAESP), which was launched in 2008, provides an online gateway through which members of the public and panel lawyers can gain access to information and transact certain legal aid business with the Department online.

Members of the public can access the LAESP to download and submit legal aid pre-application information forms to the Department as a first step towards making an application for legal aid. The means test calculator and its mobile version, which provide potential applicants a preliminary assessment of their financial eligibility for legal aid, had 5.391 and 4.346 hits in 2014 respectively.

To enhance user friendliness of the LAESP system, we have revamped the layout of the web pages, provided text-size control tool to allow the use of different font size for text display, added demonstration screens in related information sections to show how to download and submit e-reports by panel lawyers and display messages, where appropriate, to guide the users in e-report submission and data input.

Taking into account technological development, the Department has upgraded the operating system, hardware and software of all office desktop and notebook computers, the Virtual Private Network with advanced cryptographic technologies and the corresponding LAESP system in alignment with its central hosting platform provided by the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer. To tackle the ending of support for Windows Server 2003, the Department has commenced migration work and public-facing systems are expected to complete in 2015.

 
  Ms Doris Lui Wai-lan
Assistant Director of Legal Aid
(Policy and Development)
 

Staff Relations and Communication

The Department maintains effective communication with staff through regular meetings with various staff representative bodies such as the Departmental Consultative Committees, the Law Clerks Association and the Legal Aid Counsel Association. As a result of discussions at these meetings, improvements were made in areas such as office accommodation, streamlining of working procedures, indoor air quality and human resources planning.

The Director of Legal Aid visited each section regularly throughout the year with a view to exchanging ideas with staff of all levels including professionals and receiving their views on work arrangements and procedures for further review and improvement. Divisions/Sections continued to implement their respective internal communication strategies in consultation with staff. Informal meetings were also held between the Deputy Director of Legal Aid (Policy and Administration) and Senior Law Clerks I and II and general grades staff regularly to collect their views on work and to explore areas for improvement. The Department continued to publish staff newsletter three times a year to keep staff abreast of development in the Department, to promote their sense of belonging and to enhance communication.

 

Staff Welfare

The Department values the general well-being of its staff. The objective of the Staff Club, which was formed in 1988, is to promote staff welfare by organising a wide range of activities and to bring about opportunities where staff can meet and interact whilst engaging in relaxing and enriching activities.

To provide staff with opportunities to keep a healthy balance between work and relaxation, Yoga classes were organised. Recreational activities including the Annual Dinner and mini bazaars to celebrate Chinese New Year, Dragon Boat Festival and Mid-Autumn Festival were also held. Interest classes held such as dessert making and bakery classes were very popular among staff.

 
 
During the year, the Volunteer Service Group, which was formed in 2002 to encourage staff participation in volunteer services, participated in various fund raising activities such as the Rice Selling Campaign organised by Oxfam Hong Kong, MSF Day Fund Raising Campaign organised by Medecins Sans Frontieres, World Sight Day organised by ORBIS Hong Kong and the Chinese New Year Gift Transfer Program organised by St James' Settlement (People's Food Bank). 31 pieces of winter clothing knitted or bought by colleagues were also donated to St James' Settlement. It was worth mentioning that the Department attained the Top Fund-raiser Award and the 3rd Highest Per Capita Contribution Award in the Civil Service Category of Dress Casual Day organized by The Community Chest.
 
 

Environmental Initiatives

The Department is committed to ensuring its operations and activities are conducted in an environmentally responsible manner. The Department makes efforts to minimise waste, conserve energy, promote "reuse" and "recycle" of resources and enhance staff awareness and participation in protecting the environment.

The Department undertakes regular reviews to ensure that the use of its resources is in an efficient and green manner. In 2014, air-conditioning units in headquarters were gradually replaced by new models with temperature adjusting panel installed at working area to maintain room temperature at a comfortable and energy-efficient level and to improve indoor air quality. To facilitate internal circulation as well as to avoid printing advertising messages, some sections started the practice of receiving faxes by email. Details of the Department's environmental initiatives in 2014 can be found in the Department's Environmental Report at the departmental website http://www.lad.gov.hk/eng/ppr/publication/enr.html.

 

Internal Audit

The Internal Audit Section (IAS) is an independent team established to assist management to ensure that adequate control procedures and systems are in place to safeguard the Department's assets. It also carries out reviews of the various activities of the Department in order to ensure an economical, efficient and effective use of the Department's financial, human and other resources.

During the year, IAS reviewed payments to lawyers, experts and other non-aided parties and conducted walk-through tests of the completed internal control questionnaire on payment and expenditure control. It also carried out audits on the use of the Integrated Registration Information System provided by the Land Registry for conducting land searches in legal aid cases and performed periodical checks on means investigation reports, petty cash, imprest, etc.

 

Support Service to the Legal Aid Services Council

Legal Aid Services Council (LASC) is a statutory body set up under the Legal Aid Services Council Ordinance, Cap. 489 to oversee the provision of legal aid services. The LASC is responsible for advising the Chief Executive on matters of policy relating to legal aid. The LASC is chaired by a non-official who is not a professional lawyer. There are a total of 10 members comprising the Director of Legal Aid, representatives of the two legal professional bodies and lay members chosen from other fields. Representatives of the Department attend meetings of the Council and its Interest Groups and participate in its activities in promoting public awareness and understanding of the role of the Council and its relationship with the Department.

During the year, the Department provided the Council with regular progress reports and information on different aspects of legal aid services, such as the Review of Financial Eligibility Limits of Legal Aid Applicants, information relating to Legal Aid Schemes and assignment of lawyers and proposed guidelines for lawyers removed from the Legal Aid Panel applying to re-join the Panel.
 
Back to Top
PDF File Chinese Traditional Chinese Simplified

2014 法律援助署年報
2014 法 律 援 助 署 年 報
列 印
主 頁
抱 負 、 使 命 及 信 念
序 言
部 門 策 略 計 劃
法 律 援 助 服 務
公 眾 關 注 的 法 援 案 件
顧 客 服 務
宣 傳 工 作
組 織 、 行 政 及 職 員 編 制
附 錄
     
  第六章  
組織、行政及職員編制
 

本署由三個科別組成,即申請及審查科、訴訟科和政策及行政科,各由一名副署長掌管。有關本署的組織圖,可瀏覽本署網頁http://www.lad.gov.hk/chi/ginfo/oo.html

 
  鍾綺玲女士
法律援助署副署長
(政務)
 

職員編制

截至二○一四年年底,本署共有職員527名,包括76名律師、165名律政書記及286名輔助人員,當中3名法律援助律師和11名律政書記屬新聘人員。

 

培訓與發展

本署致力培養並維繫一支精益求精及專業的工作隊伍,為顧客提供優質服務。本署每年為各級人員舉辦多項一般及專業培訓課程,以期他們可掌握所需的最新知識和技巧,應對未來的挑戰。訓練組由一名高級訓練主任掌管,負責制訂、推行及檢討本署的培訓和發展政策與計劃,以配合部門的運作和員工發展需要。
 
專業培訓
 
為使部門的律師掌握相關法例的轉變和最新發展,本署舉辦與工作相關的內部培訓課程。年內,本署舉辦了兩個課程,包括如何進行經濟審查及新《公司條例》簡介會,共有66名律師參加。
 

此外,本署亦資助38名律師參加外間機構舉辦的專業講座,包括家事案件實務;過去、現在與未來-經驗之談;香港信託法律的最新法定變革;法律改革-現行法律的不濟;民事司法制度改革大型研討會;民事司法制度改革;在出現嚴重衝突的子女管養權案件中父母共同教養子女的介入服務;與具爭議性的遺囑認證及遺產管理有關的法律新知;“調解為先 互利雙贏”研討會;調解研討會-成功因素是甚麼;《商品說明(不良營商手法)(修訂)條例》概要;行使酌情權及司法覆核的性質和限制;司法覆核的理由-不合法事情與憲法面對的挑戰;司法覆核程序與補救事宜;司法覆核的最新發展;以及英國的司法覆核最新發展及改革建議。

 

管理課程

為提升員工的管理能力,本署安排25名律師參加由公務員事務局轄下公務員培訓處及外間培訓機構舉辦的管理課程,包括公營機構的人才管理策略、感染及說服技巧、談判的藝術與科學、主持招聘選拔面試技巧、善用社交媒體、透過社交媒體增取市民信任、與內地官員建立有效溝通的要訣、構想未來城市課程、評核報告的撰寫技巧、公務員的工作表現管理制度、“《鬼谷子》的談判策略”、即興演說工作坊、如何提升管理效率及卓越領導。

本署提名了3名律師參加由公務員培訓處舉辦的行政人員發展課程,即高層領導培訓課程、公共行政領袖實踐課程及創意領導培訓課程。

 

顧客服務培訓

本署一向注重培養以客為本的服務文化。為提升員工的技巧,向市民提供優質服務,本署舉辦了“從心出發,得體回答”內部培訓課程,合共三班,有72名員工參加。此外,本署亦提名及資助各級員工參加由公務員培訓處及外間培訓機構舉辦的顧客服務培訓課程。年內,本署為員工安排與顧客服務有關的多元化培訓課程,共有58名員工(包括一般職系員工)參加,課程包括管理投訴、處理顧客投訴、如何有效管理投訴,以達致優質服務、公務同心講座系列-眾志同心闖高峰、電話上的顧客服務技巧、優質顧客服務、為前線人員而設的手語培訓和如何辨識及處理思覺失調的顧客。

 

員工身心健康及一般培訓課程

本署致力促進員工的身心健康。年內,本署舉辦了“適飲適食抗壓力”工作坊,合共四班,有157名員工參加。

此外,本署亦舉辦了兩個課程,包括“正確使用顯示屏幕設備”及“人力提舉運送物件”,以提高員工對職業安全及健康的意識。

二○一四年七月,本署為加入部門的各職級新同事舉辦部門簡介會,讓他們了解部門的目標、核心價值和政策。

此外,本署提名了196名員工參加公務員培訓處、其他部門及外間培訓機構舉辦的多元化課程和研討會,內容包括公務員應有的基本信念、公文寫作、急救、壓力管理、《基本法》、普通話、職業安全、平等機會、資訊科技、知識管理、《物料供應及採購規例》和檔案管理。

至於國家事務培訓,本署有7名律師參加國家行政學院、暨南大學、南京大學及浙江大學開辦的課程。


推動自我學習和發展:署內的學習資源中心

為推廣員工持續自學進修的文化,本署繼續添置新書,供員工借閱。年內,本署為學習資源中心增添了共35本新書。中心的書籍多元化,涵蓋管理、傳意、語文、國家事務、個人發展、正向思維、壓力管理及健康生活等範疇。

為方便員工取用自學材料,本署把關於使用資訊科技的貼士、使用中文的學習資源,以及內部培訓課程的參考資料上載部門內部入門網站。此外,員工亦可登入專為公務員而設的網上學習平台—公務員易學網,內備大量各類自學材料、教材套和與工作相關的參考資料,涵蓋管理、語文、傳意和資訊科技。截至二○一四年年底,本署有287名員工已登記為易學網的會員。

 

資訊系統

本署十分重視資訊科技基礎設施及辦公室自動化設施的更新工作,以便為市民提供快捷、有效率的法援服務。

本署的個案管理及個案會計系統支援500多名員工處理法援個案的日常工序,例如審批申請、監察外委個案及處理法援付款。年內,個案管理及個案會計系統已進一步提升,以方便民事訴訟組的員工以電子方式申報利益衝突。

為更有效委派案件給法律援助律師名冊上的律師,本署將修訂個案管理及個案會計系統,向三年內未有更新個人簡歷的名冊律師定期發送提示信件。有關的提升安排預計於二○一五年推行。

在二○○八年啟用的法律援助電子服務入門網站提供方便的網上平台,讓市民和名冊律師取得所需資料,並在網上辦理一些法援相關事宜。

市民可在入門網站下載“預辦申請所需資料”表格和向本署提交填妥表格,作為辦理法援申請的初步程序。擬申請法援的人士亦可使用入門網站及手機版的經濟審查計算程式,初步評估本身的經濟狀況是否符合申請法援的資格。年內,入門網站及手機版的經濟審查計算程式的點擊率分別達5 391次及4 346次。

為使入門網站更方便易用,本署已更新網站的版面,並提供改變字體大小的工具,以選擇不同大小的字體顯示文字。本署亦在相關的資訊欄目加設示範屏幕,讓名冊律師了解如何下載及提交電子報告,以及在適當的頁面顯示指示信息,協助使用者提交電子報告及輸入資料。

因應科技發展,本署提升了部門內部所有個人及筆記簿型電腦的操作系統、硬件及軟件、附有加強加密技術的虛擬專用網絡,以及入門網站系統,以配合政府資訊科技總監辦公室提供的中央系統託管平台。為應對視窗伺服器2003不再獲得支援的情況,本署已開始系統遷移工作,預計公眾使用的系統於二○一五年完成更新。

 
  呂惠蘭女士
法律援助署助理署長
(政策及發展)
 

員工關係及溝通

本署定期與不同的員工代表組織,例如部門協商委員會、律政書記協會及法律援助律師協會舉行會議,以加強部門與員工之間的溝通。經過職管雙方在這些會議磋商後,得到改善的範疇包括辦公地方、簡化工序、室內空氣質素及人力資源策劃等。

為了與各級員工(包括律師)交流意見,法律援助署署長在年內定期探訪各個組別,聽取他們對工作安排和程序的意見,以期進一步檢討及改善。各科別/組別亦會與員工磋商,繼續實施加強內部溝通的策略。副署長(政務)亦與高級一等律政書記和高級二等律政書記及一般職系人員定期進行非正式會面,收集員工對工作的意見,以及探討可以改進的地方。此外,本署繼續每年出版三期的《法援員工通訊》,讓員工可得知部門的最新動向、提高員工對部門的歸屬感及加強溝通。

 

員工福利

本署重視員工的身心健康。職員康樂會於一九八八年成立,目標是促進員工福利。該會透過舉辦多元化消閒和有益身心的活動,讓員工有機會聚首一堂,互相交流。

為使員工保持作息均衡的生活模式,康樂會為同事舉辦了瑜伽班。康樂會又舉辦不同康樂活動,包括周年晚宴,以及農曆新年、端午節和中秋節的食品及禮品展銷會。康樂會並舉辦多個興趣班,例如甜品、烘焙食品製作班等,深受同事歡迎。

 
 
職員康樂會於二○○二年成立義工隊,鼓勵員工參與志願服務。年內,義工隊參與多項籌款活動,例如由樂施會舉辦的“樂施米義賣大行動”、無國界醫生舉辦的“無國界醫生日”籌款活動、奧比斯舉辦的“世界視覺日”及聖雅各福群會眾膳坊舉辦的“賀年禮品轉贈計劃”。本署同事又編織和購買了31件禦寒衣物送贈予聖雅各福群會。特別值得一提的是,本署在公益金舉辦的便服日籌款活動政府部門組別比賽中,奪得最高籌款獎及最高個人平均捐款獎第三名。
 
 

環保措施

本署致力確保部門在日常運作和一切事務方面,均切合環保精神,包括減少廢物、節約能源、提倡資源“物盡其用”和“循環再用”,以及提高員工的環保意識,鼓勵他們身體力行。

本署定期檢討資源運用的情況,確保符合經濟和環保效益。年內,本署陸續更換總部的空調機,並在辦公範圍加裝恆溫掣,確保辦公室的溫度維持在舒適又符合能源效益的水平,以及改善室內空氣質素。為方便內部傳閱及避免列印傳真廣告信息,某些組別已採用以電郵方式收取傳真文件。本署二○一四年的環保措施詳情,請參閱上載本署網頁的《環保報告》,網址為http://www.lad.gov.hk/chi/ppr/publication/enr.html

 

內部審核

內部審核組屬獨立組別,負責協助管理層確保部門的監管程序及系統足以保障部門的資產。該組亦檢討部門的各項工作,以確保部門的財政、人力及其他資源運用得宜,效率及成效兼備。

年內,內部審核組檢討了向律師、專家及其他非受助人支付的款項,以及就完成的有關付款及支出控制的內部監控問卷進行抽查。該組亦審核了其他範疇的工作,包括運用土地註冊處綜合註冊資訊系統處理法援個案的查冊事宜,以及定期抽查經濟狀況調查報告、小額現款和預墊備用金的管理等。

 

為法律援助服務局提供支援服務

法律援助服務局(法援局)是根據《法律援助服務局條例》(第489章)成立的法定組織,負責監察法律援助服務。此外,法援局亦負責就有關法律援助政策事宜,向行政長官提供意見。法援局主席由一位非官方的業外人士出任,局內有十名成員,包括法律援助署署長、兩個法律專業團體的代表,以及從其他行業選出的人士。本署代表除出席法援局和其興趣小組的會議外,還參加該局舉辦的推廣活動,讓市民能更深入認識和明白法援局的角色,以及法援局與法援署之間的關係。

年內,本署定期向法援局提交進度報告,並就不同範疇的法援服務提交資料文件,例如就法律援助申請人財務資格限額進行的檢討、關於法律援助計劃及外委律師的資料,以及容許被剔出法律援助律師名冊的律師申請重新加入名冊的擬議指引。

 
回頁頂
PDF File 英文版 簡體版