Chapter 4  
Customer Services
 

The Department is committed to developing and maintaining a highly-motivated, caring and responsive workforce and keeps finding ways to better its performance through a customer- focused approach when delivering its services.

 

Performance Pledges

Processing of Applications

In 2015, the Department's actual performance in meeting the various targets set for processing time is set out below:

 
 

Payment to Aided Persons and Service Providers

In 2015-16, the Department paid out $568 million to lawyers/experts/other parties and $1,180 million to legally aided persons. During the year, the Department exceeded all performance targets on payment:

 
 

Analysis of Legal Aid Costs by Nature of Expenditure

Note: These include expenses for land and company searches, court fees & taxing fees, law costs draftsman fees, expert fees, copying charges, bank charges and miscellaneous expenses.

 

Customer Feedback

With a view to enhancing our provision of services to the public, the Department regularly conducts comprehensive surveys on customer feedback on different aspects of the legal aid services. The surveys cover application and processing procedures for legal aid and the Department's in-house litigation services. Different methodologies such as on the spot collection and mail surveys have been used depending on the points of contact and on the stages and types of services rendered to customers. The overall customer satisfaction level remained high in 2015. The charts at Appendix2 illustrate the major findings of the survey on customer feedback.

 

Customer Service Initiatives

Office Accommodation

To provide quality services to the public, the Information & Application Services Unit (IASU) of the Kowloon Branch Office on the 3/F of Mongkok Government Offices was renovated in mid-2015. The project included installing seven interview rooms, setting up a new reception counter and public waiting area. Also, the relocation and renovation work of the Shroff Office in compliance with the barrier-free standard, including tactile guide paths and an accessible Shroff counter, was in progress and expected to come into service in 2016.

 

Payment through Automated Teller Machine (ATM) and internet banking

In addition to the existing payment methods provided to the public for making payments of contributions, judgment debts or costs of the proceedings to the Department in cash, by cheque or through PPS, the system was enhanced in 2015 to accept payments made through ATMs or internet banking with a view to affording greater convenience to anyone who has to make payments to the Department.

 

Enquiries, Complaints and Representations

The Department places great importance on enquiries, complaints and representations received from our customers. Customers’ concerns and suggestions are viewed by the Department as a means of improving its service and ensuring the fulfillment of its statutory functions. The Departmental Customer Service Manager, who is a senior directorate, would meet with a team of Assistant Customer Service Managers and Officers regularly to review feedback on our services and recommend follow up actions where necessary.

 

Complaints

The Assistant Director of Legal Aid (Policy and Development) is the designated Complaint Liaison Officer to coordinate the handling of all the complaints received. Members of the public may lodge complaints in person with the Customer Service Officers of individual sections or by telephone or in writing to the Department by post, email or by fax. All complaints received will be handled according to the Department's complaint handling mechanism which is in compliance with the Government's general complaint handling guidelines. The Department will investigate and handle all complaints impartially and expeditiously. In general, an interim reply will be given within 10 days after the receipt of a complaint, and a substantive reply will be given within 30 days.

 

Representations

To qualify for legal aid, applicants must pass both the means and merits tests. If anyone believes that a person should not have been given legal aid on means and/or merits, he can write to us and let us know the reasons. The Application and Processing Division is responsible for conducting review of representations against grants of legal aid on merits. Representations against grants of legal aid on means are handled by the Special Duties and Research Unit. The Department has published a leaflet to explain the investigation system and to address frequently asked questions. Please visit http://www.lad.gov.hk/eng/documents/ppr/publication/Not_Happy_en.pdf to view the leaflet.

In 2015, the Special Duties and Research Unit received 49 representations against grants of legal aid on means and completed investigation in 32 cases. Seven cases were referred to the police for investigation as to whether any offence was committed under Section 23 of the Legal Aid Ordinance, Cap. 91, and in one case, whether an offence was also committed under Section 18A of the Theft Ordinance, Cap. 210 and Section 36 of Crimes Ordinance, Cap. 200.

 
Means representations received and investigation outcome in 2014-2015:
 

LAD's Hotline Service - the Interactive Voice Response System

The Department's hotline service provides a fast and convenient means for the members of the public to learn about the legal aid services. It has recorded messages in Cantonese, Putonghua and English on different aspects of legal aid services, such as application procedures, eligibility criteria for civil and criminal legal aid, the aided person's liability to contribute towards the costs of aided proceedings etc. Where necessary, callers can speak to a staff member of the Department who will answer their queries concerning legal aid during office hours.

 
Back to Top

第四章  
顾客服务
 

本署致力建立和维持一支积极主动、体恤关怀和迅速回应顾客需要的队伍,透过以客为本的服务文化,提供优质法律援助服务,并会继续努力不懈,精益求精。

 

服务承诺

审批申请

在二○一五年,本署完成审批各项申请的实际表现详列如下:

 

为法援受助人及提供服务者支付款项

在二○一五至一六年度,本署向律师/专家/其他人士支付的费用为5.68亿元,而向法援受助人支付的款项则为11.80亿元。年内,各项付款服务的表现均超出所订的服务承诺,详情如下:

 

按开支性质划分的法律援助讼费分析

 

注:
开支包括土地及公司查册开支、法庭费用及讼费评定费用、讼费草拟人员费用、专家费用、影
印费用、银行费用及杂项开支。

 

顾客意见

为提升本署向公众提供的服务,本署定期进行全面问卷调查,以收集顾客对本署提供的各项服务的意见,包括法援申请和审批程序,以及署内律师的诉讼服务。收集方式包括即场向顾客收集意见或以邮递方式进行问卷调查。至於选用何种方式,则视乎与顾客接触的途径、个案的处理阶段,以及所提供的服务种类。年内,整体顾客服务的满意程度维持於高水平。显示顾客意见调查主要结果的图表载於附录2

 

顾客服务措施

办公地方

为向市民提供优质的服务,本署位於旺角政府合署3楼的九龙分署谘询及申请组已於二○一五年年中翻新。翻新工程包括设置7间会面室、新的接待处及公众等候区。此外,缴款处正进行搬迁及翻新工程,以符合无障碍标準,设施包括触觉引路带及畅通易达的缴款柜枱,预计将於二○一六年投入服务。

 

使用银行自动柜员机及网上银行缴付款项

市民现时可以现金、支票或透过缴费灵向本署缴付分担费、判定债项或讼费。为更方便市民,本署已於二○一五年提升有关系统,让市民亦可透过银行自动柜员机或网上银行缴付款项。

 

查询、投诉及陈述

本署十分重视处理顾客查询、投诉及陈述的工作。顾客所关注的事情及提出的意见,有助本署提高服务质素及妥善履行法定职责。部门顾客服务经理由高级首长级人员担任,定期与助理顾客服务经理和主任开会,检讨市民对本署服务的意见,并建议所需的跟进工作。

 

投诉

助理署长(政策及发展)是本署指派的投诉统筹主任,负责统筹处理部门接获的所有投诉。市民可亲身或透过电话向有关组别的顾客服务主任投诉,或透过邮递、电邮或传真,以书面形式向本署提出。本署会按照部门既定的投诉处理机制处理所有接获的投诉,有关机制符合政府的一般处理投诉指引。本署会不偏不倚、迅速调查和处理所有投诉。一般而言,本署会在接获投诉後10天内给予初步回覆,并在30天内给予具体回覆。

 

陈述

申请人必须通过经济审查及案情审查,方可符合资格获得法律援助。任何人如认为个别受助人的经济状况及/或案情不应获批法援,可以书面形式向本署述明原因。本署的申请及审查科负责覆检巿民就受助人的案情而认为署方不应批予法援所提出的陈述。特别职务及研究小组则负责调查巿民就受助人的经济状况而认为不应获批法援的陈述。本署已印製小册子说明调查机制及解答常见问题,详情可浏览http://www.lad.gov.hk/chs/documents/ppr/publication/Not_Happy_sc.pdf

年内,特别职务及研究小组共接获49份就受助人的经济状况而反对本署给予法援的陈述,并完成了32宗个案调查。本署把7宗个案转交警方作进一步调查,以确定受助人有否触犯《法律援助条例》(第91章)第23条的罪行,而其中1宗需要确定受助人有否亦触犯《盗窃罪条例》(第210章)第18A条及《刑事罪行条例》(第200章)第36条的罪行。

 
在二〇一三至二〇一四年度接获针对受助人经济状况提出陈述的数目及调查结果如下:
 

法律援助署电话热线服务-交互式话音回应系统

透过本署的电话热线,市民可快捷方便地取得法援服务的资讯。热线查询服务提供广东话、普通话及英语录音,讲解法律援助服务各个範畴的资讯,例如民事及刑事法律援助的申请程序和资格準则,以及受助人分担案件讼费的责任等。在办公时间内,市民亦可向本署人员查询关於法律援助的问题。

 
回页顶