Chapter 3  
Case of Public Interest or Concern

Official Receiver v Zhi Charles, formerly known as Chang Hyun Chi and Another, FACV No. 8 of 2015

The Bankruptcy Ordinance, Cap. 6 (BO) provides that after a person is adjudged bankrupt, he is entitled to be discharged from bankruptcy automatically upon the expiry of the relevant periods prescribed by BO. For first-time bankrupts, the relevant period is four years and for repeated bankrupts, the period is five years beginning with the commencement of the bankruptcy. Section 30A(10)(a) of BO stipulates that where a bankrupt has, before the commencement of the bankruptcy, left Hong Kong and has not returned to Hong Kong, the relevant period shall not commence to run until such time as he returns to Hong Kong and notifies the trustee of his return. This case concerns whether section 30A(10)(a) infringes a bankrupt’s constitutional freedom to travel and to enter and leave Hong Kong (‘the right to travel”) under Article 311 of the Basic Law (BL31) and Article 8(2)2 of the Hong Kong Bill of Rights, Cap. 383 (BOR8(2)).

In this case, Mr Zhi (Z) was a South Korean national, who obtained Hong Kong permanent resident status in 2000. He left Hong Kong on 9 August 2003 and lived overseas. On 20 December 2006, a bankruptcy order was made against him while he was not in Hong Kong and trustees of Z’s property were appointed (the Trustees). Although Z subsequently visited Hong Kong on a number of occasions from December 2006 to May 2012, he did not notify the Trustees of his return upon those visits. In July 2011, leave was granted to the Trustees pursuant to section 29 of BO to examine him but he failed to attend that examination. A prohibition order and a warrant for his arrest were issued. On 10 May 2012, He was arrested as he entered Hong Kong.

In July 2012, Z applied to Court to seek the following declaration: (1) by virtue of the expiry of 4 years after the bankruptcy order pursuant to sections 30A(1) and 30A(2)(a), he was automatically discharged from bankruptcy on 21 December 2010 ; (2) alternatively, if section 30A(10)(a) applied (that is, as he was not in Hong Kong before the bankruptcy order was made, the period of 4 years did not begin to run until he returned to Hong Kong and notified the Trustees in bankruptcy of his return), section 30A(10)(a) was unconstitutional as it affected his freedom to travel under BL31; (3) further or alternatively, if he had been automatically discharged from bankruptcy under sections 30A(1) and 30A(2)(a), section 29 could not lawfully be invoked to examine him.

The Court of First Instance dismissed Z’s application and he appealed to the Court of Appeal.

The Court of Appeal reversed the Judge’s decision and granted a declaration that section 30A(10)(a) was unconstitutional and that Z’s bankruptcy had been discharged on 21 December 2010.

The Official Receiver brought the appeal to the Court of Final Appeal (CFA). Leave to appeal was granted as important issues of public interest were raised.

After hearing the submission from the parties, the CFA unanimously dismissed the appeal and held that section 30A(10)(a) did not satisfy the proportionality test and therefore was unconstitutional. A thorough analysis and discussion was made by the highest court about the grounds relied upon by the parties.

The CFA decided that section 30A(10)(a) could only be constitutional if it satisfied the proportionality test. In considering the proportionality of the sanction imposed by section 30A(10)(a), the CFA found that the provision operated as part of a coherent scheme regulating discharge from bankruptcy which a bankrupt is entitled to as a matter of right after a period of time. Section 30A(10) provides that:

Notwithstanding sub-ss (1)-(3), where a bankrupt-
(a)   has, before the commencement of the bankruptcy, left Hong Kong and has not returned to Hong Kong, the relevant period under sub-s (1) shall not commence to run until such time as he returns to Hong Kong and notifies the trustee of his return;
(b)   after the commencement of his bankruptcy:
    (i)   leaves Hong Kong without notifying the trustee of his itinerary and where he can be contacted; or
    (ii)   fails to return to Hong Kong on a date or within a period specified by the trustee,
the relevant period under sub-s (1) shall not continue to run during the period he is absent from Hong Kong and until he notifies the trustee of his return.’

Section 30A(10)(a) governs the position of a person’s absence from Hong Kong before the commencement of the bankruptcy and section 30A(10)(b) governs such absence after its commencement.

The CFA noted that section 30A(10)(a) applied automatically regardless of whether the bankrupt was ready and willing to afford all co-operation to the trustee in the administration of his estate and without exception regardless of the circumstances that led to the bankrupt being absent from Hong Kong or his inability to return to Hong Kong including illness, impecuniosity or imprisonment. Moreover, it did not vest in the Court any discretion to disapply the sanction that arose by reason of his absence from Hong Kong.

The CFA considered another CFA case, viz. Official Receiver & Trustee in Bankruptcy of Chan Wing Hing v Chan Wing Hing & Secretary for Justice (2006) 9 HKCFAR 545 which dealt with the constitutionality of section 30A(10)(b)(i). In that case, the CFA held (by a majority) that section 30A(10)(b)(i) was not proportionate and therefore unconstitutional as the sanction under section 30A(10)(b)(i) was a harsh one because once triggered it operated indiscriminately at all times and irrespective of the circumstances and constituted a disproportionate impairment of the right to travel.

As the parties agreed that the judgment of the majority in Chan Wing Hing was a correct statement of the law in respect of section 30A(10)(b)(i) and the Court was not invited to depart from that decision, the CFA rejected the appellant’s argument that section 30A(10)(a) and section 30A(10)(b)(i) were distinguishable and found that there was no material distinction in their operation. In fact, the CFA found that the obligation imposed on a bankrupt under section 30A(10)(a) was even harsher than the mere notification requirement of section 30A(10)(b)(i) since it required the bankrupt to return to Hong Kong physically and notify the Trustees. The CFA therefore concluded that section 30A(10)(a) did not satisfy the proportionality test and was found unconstitutional.

As to the question of whether section 30A(10)(a) infringes the right to travel, in light of the common stance of the parties that it did and in the absence of full argument on an adversarial basis on this question, the CFA determined this appeal on the assumption that the operation of section 30A(10)(a) infringed on the right to travel under BL31 and BOR8(2). However, the CFA considered such assumption debatable and this issue should not be considered as settled.

 

Further Development

In 2015, the Bankruptcy (Amendment) Bill 2015 was introduced proposing to repeal section 30A(10) and replace it with a new regime pursuant to which the trustee in bankruptcy may apply to the Court for a non-commencement order if a bankrupt fails to attend the initial interview or to provide the trustee with all information concerning his/her affairs, dealings and property as reasonably required by the trustee. The Bankruptcy (Amendment) Bill 2015 was passed and came into effect on 1 November 2016.

 

Note:

1 “Hong Kong residents shall have freedom of movement within the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and freedom of emigration to other countries and regions. They shall have freedom to travel and to enter or leave the Region. Unless restrained by law, holders of valid travel documents shall be free to leave the Region without special authorization.”

2 “(2) Everyone shall be free to leave Hong Kong.”

 
Back to Top

第三章  
公众关注的法援案件
 

破产管理署署长诉 Zhi Charles,前称Chang Hyun Chi及其他人
(终院民事上诉2015年第8号)

根据《破产条例》(第6章),被判定破产的人在《破产条例》订明的有关期间届满时,即自动解除破产。就首次破产的人而言,有关期间为自破产开始起计4年;就再次破产的人而言,有关期间为自破产开始起计5年。《破产条例》第30A(10) (a)条规定,凡破产人在破产开始前已离开香港且尚未返回香港,则有关期间在该破产人返回香港并将其返回一事通知受託人之前不得开始计算。本案涉及第30A(10) (a)条有否侵犯破产人根据《基本法》第31条1(“BL 31”)和《香港人权法案》(第383章(第8条第2款2(“BOR 8 (2)”)享有的旅行和出入境的宪法自由(“旅行权利”)。

在本案中,Zhi先生(Z)是南韩国民,在2000年取得香港永久居民身分。他在2003年8月9日离港移居海外。2006年12月20日,法庭於Z不在香港时向他作出一项破产令,而有关方面亦就其财产委任受託人。Z其後於2006年12月至2012年5月期间曾多次回港,但却从来没有通知受託人。2011年7月,法庭根据《破产条例》第29条给予受託人对Z进行讯问的许可,但Z没有出席接受讯问的聆讯。法庭遂向他发出禁止令和拘捕令。2012年5月10日,他在进入香港时被拘捕。

在2012年7月,Z向法庭申请寻求作出下述声明:(1)根据第30A (1)条和第30A(2) (a)条,破产令於发出4年後届满,因此他於2010年12月21日获自动解除破产;(2)此外,如第30A(10) (a)条适用於本案(即由於法庭在作出破产令之前,他并不在香港,而4年的有关期间须由他返回香港及将此事通知破产案受託人时,才开始计算),则第30A(10) (a)条违反宪法,因为此条文影响他根据BL 31享有的旅行自由;(3)进一步而言或此外,如他已根据第30A(1)条及第30A(2) (a)条获自动解除破产,法庭便不能合法地援引第29条要求他接受讯问。

原讼法庭驳回Z的申请,他其後向上诉法庭提出上诉。

上诉法庭推翻原讼法庭法官的决定,并宣布第30A(10) (a)条违反宪法,并且Z已於2010年12月21日获解除破产。

破产管理署署长向终审法院(终院)提出上诉。由於案件提出了涉及公众利益的重要议题,故获给予上诉许可。

终院在听取与讼双方陈词後,一致驳回上诉,并裁定第30A(10) (a)条并不符合相称性的验證标準,因此违反宪法。属最高法院的终院就与讼双方所依据的理据进行了全面的分析及讨论。

终院裁定第30A(10) (a)条必须符合相称性的验證标準才能符合宪法。在考虑第30A(10) (a)条所施以的制裁是否相称时,终院认为该条文是规管解除破产的整个连贯计划的其中一部分,即是破产人经过一段时间後,有权获得解除破产。第30A(10) 条规定:

“儘管有第 (1) 至 (3) 款的规定,凡破产人─
(a)   在破产开始前已离开香港且尚未返回香港,则第 (1) 款所指的有关期间,在该破产人返回香港并将其返回一事通知受託人之前不得开始计算;
(b)   在其破产开始後─
   
(i)   离开香港,而没有将其行程和联络处通知受託人;或
(ii)   没有在受託人指明的日期或期间内返回香港,

则第 (1) 款所指的有关期间不得在其不在香港期间继续计算,而是直至该破产人将其返回一事通知受託人之时可继续计算。”

第30A(10) (a)条规管破产人在破产生效日期前不在香港的情况,而第30A(10) (b)条则规管在破产生效日期後不在香港的情况。

终院注意到第30A(10) (a)条在所有情况下均自动适用,而无订明例外情况。换言之,不管破产人是否準备及愿意和受託人就管理其产业方面全面合作,以及不管破产人是在何种情况下(包括疾病、经济困难或被监禁)不在香港及不能返港,该项条文均自动适用。此外,此项条文亦没给予法庭酌情权决定有关制裁不适用於个别在有关期间内不在香港的破产人。

终院考虑了另一宗终审法院的案例,即破产管理署署长及陈永兴的破产案受託人 诉 陈永兴及律政司司长(2006) 9 HKCFAR 545,该案涉及第30A(10) (b) (i)条是否符合宪法的问题。在该案例中,终院法官以大多数裁定第30A(10) (b) (i)条并不相称,因此违反宪法,原因是第30A(10) (b) (i)条订明的制裁是严苛的,因为该惩处一旦触发,无论在任何时间和什麽情况,均一律施行,因此对旅行权利的限制与其所达致的目的并不相称。

由於与讼双方均同意上述案例对於第30A(10) (b) (i)条的法律观点作出的陈述是正确的,因此并没要求终院偏离该案例的判决理据。终院拒绝接纳上诉人指第30A(10) (a)条与第30A(10) (b) (i)条是有分别的论据,并裁定两条条文的实施并无显著的分别。事实上,终院认为第30A(10) (a)条对破产人施加的责任比第30A(10) (b) (i)条的更严苛;後者仅要求破产人将返回香港一事通知受託人,但前者却要求破产人返回香港及通知受託人。因此终院作出的结论是,第30A(10) (a)条并不符合相称性的验證标準,并裁定条文违反宪法。

关於第30A(10) (a)条是否侵犯了旅行权利的问题,鑑於与讼双方均同意此项条文确实侵犯了旅行权利,而且双方并没有以对辩方式就这问题陈述详尽论据,因此终院依据第30A(10) (a)条的实施侵犯了BL 31和BOR 8 (2) 订明的旅行权利的解读,就上诉作出判决。虽然如此,终院认为这解读有商榷馀地,所以这项争论点不应被视为已有定论。

 

後续发展

2015年,政府提交《2015年破产(修订)条例草案》,建议废除第30A(10)条,并以新制度取代。在新制度下,如果破产人没有出席与破产案受託人的初次会面,或没有提供受託人所有合理要求关於破产人的事务、交易及财产的资料,受托人可向法庭申请一项“不开始令”。《2015年破产(修订)条例草案》获得通过,并由2016年11月1日起生效。

 

1 “香港居民有在香港特别行政区境内迁徙的自由,有移居其他国家和地区的自由。香港居民有旅行和出入境的自由。有效旅行證件的持有人,除非受到法律制止,可自由离开香港特别行政区,无需特别批准。”

2 “(二)人人应有自由离去香港。”

 
回页顶