Legal Aid Contributions
Supplementary Legal Aid Scheme

Supplementary Legal Aid Scheme

The Supplementary Legal Aid Scheme is a self-financing scheme and is funded by contribution paid by an applicant upon acceptance of legal aid and contribution deducted from the damages or compensation recovered in the proceedings.

For (i) claims arising from personal injuries or death; (ii) employees’ compensation claims; and (iii) representation for employees in appeals against awards made by the Labour Tribunal, you are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $1,000.

Upon acceptance of legal aid, you are required to pay an interim contribution of $72,595.

For (i) claims arising from personal injuries or death; and (ii) employees’ compensation claims:

If the proceedings are successful, 10% of the damages recovered will be deducted and paid into the Supplementary Legal Aid Fund. If the case is settled before the date of commencement of the trial /counsel is briefed to attend trial, 6% of the damages recovered will instead be deducted.

For (iii) representation for employees in appeals against awards made by the Labour Tribunal:

If the proceedings are successful, 10% of the damages recovered will be deducted and paid into the Supplementary Legal Aid Fund. If the case is settled before the date of commencement of the appeal hearing in the Court of First Instance /counsel is briefed to attend the hearing, 6% of the damages recovered will instead be deducted.

In addition, you will also be required to pay all legal costs expended on your behalf (including costs which cannot be recovered from the opposite party) out of the damages recovered. However, the total sum deducted will be reduced by the application fee and interim contribution already paid.

For the following types of cases, you are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $5,000 :
(i)  medical, dental and legal professional negligence claims;
(ii)  professional negligence claims against certified public accountants (practising), registered architects, registered professional engineers, registered professional surveyors, registered professional planners, authorized land surveyors, registered landscape architects and estate agents;
(iii)  negligence claims against insurers or their intermediaries in respect of the taking out of personal insurance products; and
(iv)  monetary claims against vendors in the sale of completed or uncompleted first-hand residential properties,

Upon acceptance of legal aid, you are required to pay an interim contribution of 10% of your assessed financial resources or $72,595, whichever is the higher.

If the proceedings are successful, 20% of the damages recovered will be deducted and paid into the Supplementary Legal Aid Fund. If the case is settled before the date of commencement of the trial/counsel is briefed to attend trial, 15% of the damages recovered will instead be deducted. In addition, you will also be required to pay all legal costs expended on your behalf (including costs which cannot be recovered from the opposite party) out of the damages recovered. However, the total sum deducted will be reduced by the application fee and interim contribution already paid.

If the proceedings for which legal aid is granted are unsuccessful, the interim contribution paid will be used towards the payment of legal costs incurred for your claim and will not be refunded unless there is a surplus after payment of such costs.

 
back top

< 返回

法律援助辅助计划

法律援助辅助计划

法律援助辅助计划在财政上自给自足,经费来自申请人在接受法律援助时所缴付的分担费,以及在诉讼中替申请人讨回的赔偿或补偿所扣取的款项。

就(i)人身伤亡申索;(ii)雇员补偿申索;以及(iii)为针对劳资审裁处所作裁决而提出的上诉中,为雇员提供法律代表,你须缴付申请费1,000元。如申请不成功,将不获发还。

在接受法律援助时,你须缴付中期分担费105,100元。

就(i)人身伤亡申索;以及(ii)雇员补偿申索:

如案件胜诉,本署会从讨回赔偿中扣除10%的款项,拨入法律援助辅助计划基金。如案件在审讯开始的日期前/委聘大律师出席审讯前达致和解,扣除的百分比会减至6%。

就(iii)为针对劳资审裁处所作裁决而提出的上诉中,为雇员提供法律代表:

如案件胜诉,本署会从讨回的赔偿中扣除10%的款项,拨入辅助计划基金。如案件在原讼法庭上诉聆讯开始的日期前/委聘大律师出庭前达致和解,扣除的百分比会减至6%。

此外,本署代你支付的所有法律费用(包括未能向对讼一方收回的讼费),均会从讨回的赔偿中扣除。然而,本署会先把你已缴付的申请费及中期分担费减去,然后再从赔偿中扣除你应付的法律费用余额。

下列类别案件的申请费为5,000元,如申请不成功,将不获发还:

(i) 就医疗、牙科及法律专业疏忽提出的申索;
(ii) 涉及执业会计师、注册建筑师、注册专业工程师、注册专业测量师、注册专业规划师、认可土地测量师、注册园境师,以及地产代理专业疏忽的申索;
(iii) 关于保险人或其中介人在销售个人保险产品时涉及疏忽的申索;
(iv) 就售卖已落成或未落成一手住宅物业而向卖方提出的金钱申索;
(v) 针对持有《证券及期货条例》(第571章)所指的第1类(证券交易)、第2类(期货合约交易)或第8类(提供证券保证金融资)受规管活动牌照或获注册以进行该等活动的金融中介人的专业疏忽所提出的金钱申索;
(vi) 涉及因诈骗、欺骗或失实陈述而被诱使进行的证券衍生工具、货币期货或其他期货合约交易所提出的金钱申索。

在接受法律援助时,你须缴付中期分担费,比率为经评定的财务资源的10%或105,100元,金额以较高者为准。

如案件胜诉,本署会从讨回的赔偿中扣除20%的款项,拨入辅助计划基金。如案件在审讯开始的日期前/委聘大律师出席审讯前达致和解,扣除的百分比会减至15%。此外,本署代你支付的所有法律费用(包括未能向对讼一方收回的讼费),均会从讨回的赔偿中扣除,然而,本署会先把你已缴付的申请费及中期分担费减去,然后再从赔偿中扣除你应付的法律费用余额。

如受助个案败诉,中期分担费会用作支付申索所招致的讼费。除非支付讼费后尚有余款,否则你不会获发还有关款项。

2021年3月9日