2014 Legal Aid Department Annual Report
print
Main Page
Vision, Mission & Values
Foreward
Departmantal Strategic Plan
Legal Aid Service
Case of Public Interest or Concern
Customer Service
Publicity Programmes
Organistion, Administration and Staffing
Appendicies
     
  Chapter 2  
Legal Aid Services
 

Legal aid business is conducted in the following service areas:
• Receiving and processing of legal aid applications;
• Assignments and monitoring of legal aid cases;
• Litigation services; and
• Related supporting legal services.

 

Application and Processing Services

In 2014, a total of 20 005 applications for legal aid were received and 10 216 legal aid certificates were issued:

 
 
  Mr Chris Chong Yan-tung
Deputy Director of Legal Aid
(Application and Processing)
 

Legal Aid in Civil Cases

Civil legal aid applications, apart from applications relating to wages claims which are processed by the Insolvency Unit of the Litigation Division, are handled by the Application and Processing Division.

 

Ordinary Legal Aid Scheme

The Ordinary Legal Aid Scheme (OLAS) covers many different types of civil cases which are closely related to the public's daily lives. Types of cases covered include family disputes, employees' compensation claims, personal injuries claims, immigration matters and other miscellaneous proceedings in the District Court, the Court of First Instance, the Court of Appeal and the Court of Final Appeal. It also covers applications to the Mental Health Review Tribunal and death inquests if the Director is of the opinion that the interests of public justice require legal aid be given.

 

Supplementary Legal Aid Scheme

Applicants whose financial resources exceed the statutory limit of OLAS of $269,620 but is below $1,348,100 may apply under the Supplementary Legal Aid Scheme (SLAS). The scope of SLAS covers employees' compensation claims and representation for employees in appeals against awards made by the Labour Tribunal irrespective of the amount of the claim. It also covers the following types of cases where the claim is likely to exceed $60,000:

 
personal injuries or death, medical, dental or legal professional negligence;
 
professional negligence claims against certified public accountants (practising), registered architects, registered professional engineers, registered professional surveyors, registered professional planners, authorized land surveyors, registered landscape architects and estate agents;
 
negligence claims against insurers or their intermediaries in respect of the taking out of the personal insurance products; and
 
monetary claims against vendors in the sale of completed or uncompleted first-hand residential properties.


In 2014, there were 238 SLAS applications and 175 legal aid certificates were issued under SLAS.

SLAS is a self-financing scheme and is funded by contributions paid by the applicants upon acceptance of legal aid and contributions from monies recovered in the aided proceedings. The rates of contribution for personal injuries and employees' compensation claims and the provision of legal representation to employees for appeals against awards made by the Labour Tribunal range from 6% to 10%. For the remaining types of proceedings, the contribution rates range from 15% to 20%.

For the year ended 30 September 2014, a surplus of $0.4 million was recorded as compared with a deficit of $0.5 million in the year ended 30 September 2013 in the Supplementary Legal Aid Fund. As at 30 September 2014, the Fund had a balance of $186.8 million. For details, please refer to Appendix 1.

 

Distribution of Civil Legal Aid Applications Received in 2013-2014

 
 

Distribution of Civil Legal Aid Certificates Issued in 2013-2014


 
  Ms Mo Yuk-wah
Assistant Director of Legal Aid
(Application and Processing)

 
To facilitate the public to apply for legal aid, the Application and Processing Division also provides an information and enquiry service through the Information and Application Services Unit. The Unit deals with enquiries from the public on matters such as the scope of legal aid, financial eligibility limits and application procedures. In 2014, the Unit received a total of 38 208 enquiries.
 

Eligibility

Successful applicants regardless of their nationality or residence and who pass both the means and merits tests will be granted legal aid. They are given the services of a solicitor and, if necessary, counsel to represent them in legal proceedings conducted in Hong Kong courts.

 
Take-up Rate for Civil Legal Aid in 2013-2014
 
 
  Miss Ada Wong Yiu-ming
Assistant Principal Legal Aid Counsel /
Application and Processing (1)
 

Refusal of Legal Aid

An applicant who is refused legal aid in civil matters on either means or merits may appeal to the Registrar of the High Court. In respect of the Court of Final Appeal cases, the applicants may appeal to a Review Committee comprising the Registrar of the High Court, a barrister and a solicitor appointed respectively by the Chairman of the Hong Kong Bar Association and the President of the Law Society of Hong Kong. The decision of the Registrar or the Review Committee is final.

 
Refusal Rate of Civil Legal Aid Applications in 2013-2014
 
 
Success Rate of Civil Legal Aid Appeals in 2013-2014
 
 
  Mr Francis Chan Wan-kit
Assistant Principal Legal Aid Counsel /
Application and Processing (2)
 
Outcome of Cases Closed in 2014
 
 
  (2013 figures in bracket)
 
  Mr Steve Wong Yiu-fai
Assistant Principal Legal Aid Counsel
(Kowloon Branch Office)
 

Legal Aid in Criminal Cases

Criminal legal aid applications are processed by the Crime Section.

 
Distribution of Criminal Legal Aid Applications Received in 2013-2014
 
 
Applicants whose means exceed the statutory limit may be granted legal aid if the Director of Legal Aid is satisfied that it is desirable in the interests of justice to grant legal aid.
 
Distribution of Criminal Legal Aid Certificates Issued in 2013-2014
 
 
Take-up Rate for Criminal Legal Aid in 2013-14
 
  Ms Juliana Chan Oi-yung
Deputy Director of Legal Aid
(Litigation)
 

Refusal of Criminal Legal Aid

If an applicant is refused criminal legal aid on merits, he can apply to the judge who may grant legal aid on his own initiative provided the applicant is eligible on means.

In 2014, there were 12 refusals on means, all of which were also refused on merits. The Director exercised discretion and granted legal aid in 24 other cases even though the means of the applicants exceeded the limit. 26 applications were refused because the applicants concerned failed to supply the Director with the necessary information to conduct a means test.

 
  Ms Sherman Cheung Suk-ying
Assistant Director of Legal Aid
(Litigation)
 
For refusal in respect of an appeal to the Court of Final Appeal, the appellant may appeal to a Review Committee chaired by the Registrar of the High Court and comprising a barrister and a solicitor appointed by the Chairman of the Hong Kong Bar Association and by the President of the Law Society of Hong Kong respectively. The decision of the Committee is final. In 2014, no appeal was made to the Review Committee.
 
Refusal Rate of Criminal Legal Aid Applications in 2013-2014
 
 
  Miss Linda Ng Wing-ping
Assistant Principal Legal Aid Counsel
(Crime)
 

Legal Aid Electronic Services Portal

Any person over the age of 18 can submit pre-application information online for non-urgent civil and criminal cases as a first step towards making an application for legal aid. To make use of this online submission procedure and to ensure confidentiality of information transmitted online, applicants must be holders of a digital certificate issued by the Hong Kong Post or Digi-Sign.

The Legal Aid Electronic Services Portal (LAESP) also has a means test calculator which allows members of the public to conduct a preliminary assessment of their eligibility on means if they apply for legal aid. Members of the public can visit the departmental website at www.lad.gov.hk or the mobile phone version and access the means test calculator. In 2014, the means test calculator and the mobile version means calculator received 5 391 and 4 346 hits respectively.

 

Legal Aid Assignments and Monitoring

Assignments

Legal aid work is not distributed to counsel or solicitors on the Legal Aid Panel equally. Interest of the legally aided persons is the paramount consideration. Counsel or solicitors are selected having regard to their level of experience and expertise, the nature and complexity of the particular case, with reference to established guidelines and criteria, which include, amongst others, minimum experience requirements, past performance records and the limit on assignments of legal aid work.

 

Distribution of Civil and Criminal Assignments to Solicitors / Counsel in 2014

 
 
 

The Department has set up the Departmental Committee on Monitoring Assignments to Counsel and Solicitors to ensure that cases are assigned in accordance with the established assignment criteria and guidelines. The Committee is chaired by the Director of Legal Aid and comprises directorate officers of the Department. It considers reports on the unsatisfactory performance/conduct of assigned lawyers.

In 2014, on the advice of the Committee, 11 solicitors were put on the Record of Unsatisfactory Performance/Conduct.

Since the assignment of legal aid cases is based on the experience of Panel lawyers in the past three years, after conducting an updating exercise of Legal Aid Panel last year, in order to maintain the integrity of the legal aid assignment system, the Department would arrange to enhance the Case Management and Case Accounting System to remind Panel lawyers to submit Data Update Form before the expiry of the three year period so that their personal particulars as well as their experience and expertise with the Department would be updated regularly.

 

Mediation in Legal Aid Cases

Legal aid covers mediators' fees and related expenses incurred by legally aided persons undergoing mediation in the course of the aided proceedings. In 2014, funding for mediation was approved in 953 assigned out cases, out of which 141 were matrimonial cases.

 

Litigation Services

In-house Civil Litigation

The Civil Litigation Section (CLS) of the Litigation Division undertakes civil litigation for aided persons whose cases have been assigned in-house.

 

Personal Injury Litigation

In 2014, Civil Litigation (1) of CLS took up 200 personal injuries cases including employees' compensation claims, traffic accident claims and negligence claims. Damages over $1 million were recovered for aided persons in eight cases and in one case, the damages recovered was $9 million. The total amount of damages recovered was about $36 million.

Legal costs recovered for the professional litigation work done by our in-house officers were about $4.8 million.

 
  Ms Tse Sze-fong
Assistant Principal Legal Aid Counsel
(Civil Litigation 1)
 
Family Litigation

In 2014, the Family Unit of the Civil Litigation (2) of CLS took up a total of 1 096 family cases including divorce, maintenance, custody and property disputes. It also handled enforcement proceedings for the recovery of outstanding maintenance and costs in family cases litigated in-house.

 
  Mr Li Chi-keung
Assistant Principal Legal Aid Counsel
(Civil Litigation 2)
 

Wages Claims

The Insolvency Unit of the Civil Litigation (2) of CLS assists employees referred by the Labour Relations Office of the Labour Department to recover arrears of wages and other employment-related benefits. It also handles the ensuing winding-up or bankruptcy proceedings.

Where there is sufficient evidence to support the presentation of a petition for winding-up or bankruptcy but it is uneconomical or unreasonable in the particular circumstances to institute court proceedings, the Unit will refer the case to the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund Board for consideration of ex-gratia payments to the employees.

In 2014, the Insolvency Unit took out 53 winding-up and three bankruptcy petitions. A total of 251 cases were referred to the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund Board for ex-gratia payments.

 

In-house Criminal Litigation

In addition to processing legal aid applications for criminal cases, in-house lawyers in the Crime Section of the Litigation Division also represents legally aided persons at committal proceedings in the Magistrate's Court, plea day hearing in the District Court, listing hearings in the Court of First Instance as well as bail applications at all levels of court. They also act as instructing solicitors in cases in the Court of First Instance, the Court of Appeal and the Court of Final Appeal.

In 2014, 84.7% of all criminal cases in the District Court in Hong Kong were legally aided, as were 99.8% of criminal cases in the Court of First Instance.

In 2014, the Crime Section handled 1 799 cases in-house:

 
 
  Mrs Christina Hadiwibawa Cheung Ying-man
Assistant Principal Legal Aid Counsel
(Legal and Management Support)
 

Related Legal Support Services

Costing

The Department’s Costing Unit assesses all bills of costs submitted by assigned solicitors and opposite parties and attends taxation hearings.

Cases handled by the Costing Unit in 2013-2014

 
 

Enforcement

The Department's Enforcement Unit (EU) handles enforcement proceedings for the recovery of judgment debts and costs in legally aided cases. In 2014, a total of 287 cases were assigned to the EU. In 213 cases, enforcement proceedings were instituted. About 28% of the proceedings were instituted within 1 month from the date the cases were assigned to the handling professional officers. The table below shows the length of time taken for enforcement proceedings to be commenced from the date of assignment:

Time taken for commencement of enforcement proceedings in 2014 :

 
  (2013 figures in bracket)
 

Some of these cases were settled prior to the commencement of or during the enforcement proceedings when the judgment debtors undertook, through negotiation and production of supporting documents, to pay the outstanding amount by instalments.

The costs and damages recovery ratio for cases with enforcement action handled by the Department and finalised in 2014 is as shown in the chart below:

 

 

Back to Top
 
PDF File Chinese Traditional Chinese Simplified

2014 法 律 援 助 署 年 报
列 印
回 页 顶
抱 负 、 使 命 及 信 念
序 言
部 门 策 略 计 划
法 律 援 助 服 务
公 众 关 注 的 法 援 案 件
顾 客 服 务
宣 传 工 作
组 织 、 行 政 及 职 员 编 制
附 录
     
  第二章  
法律援助服务
 

法律援助涵盖下述服务範畴:
• 接受并审批法律援助申请;
• 法援案件的委派及监察;
• 诉讼服务;以及
• 相关的法律支援服务。

 

申请及审批服务

在二○一四年,本署共接获20 005宗法律援助申请,并批出10 216张法律援助證书:

 
 
  莊因东先生
法律援助署副署长
(申请及审查)
 

民事法律援助

除了追讨工资的法律援助申请是由诉讼科的清盘破产诉讼小组处理外,所有民事诉讼的法援申请均由申请及审查科审批。
 

普通法律援助计划

普通法律援助计划(普通计划)涵盖多类与市民日常生活息息相关的民事案件,包括家事诉讼、僱员补偿申索、人身伤害申索、入境事务,以及在区域法院、原讼法庭、上诉法庭及终审法院进行的杂项诉讼。普通计划亦涵盖在精神健康覆核审裁处提出的申请。如法律援助署署长认为给予法援有助维护社会公义,死因裁判法庭进行的研讯亦会获批法援。

 

法律援助辅助计划

申请人的财务资源如超过普通计划的法定限额,即超过269,620元但少於1,348,100元,可根据法律援助辅助计划(辅助计划)提出申请。辅助计划的範围涵盖僱员补偿申索,以及在针对劳资审裁处所作裁决而提出的上诉中为僱员提供法律代表,以上类别没有索偿额或争议金额的规限。辅助计划亦涵盖下列案件类别,而索偿额很可能超过60,000元:

 
个人伤亡索偿,或因医疗、牙科或法律专业疏忽而提出的申索;
 
涉及执业会计师、註册建築师、註册专业工程师、註册专业测量师、註册专业规划师、认可土地测量师、註册园境师,以及地产代理专业疏忽的申索;
  关於保险人或其中介人在销售个人保险产品时涉及疏忽的申索;以及
  就售卖已落成或未落成一手住宅物业向卖方提出的金钱申索。


年内,本署共接获238宗根据辅助计划提出的申请,批出的法律援助證书有175张。

辅助计划在财政上自给自足,经费来自申请人在接受法律援助时所缴付的分担费,以及在获批法援的诉讼中讨回的款项所扣除的款额。涉及人身伤害和僱员补偿的申索,以及在针对劳资审裁处所作裁决而提出的上诉中为僱员提供法律代表的个案,其分担费比率由6%至10%不等。至於辅助计划所涵盖的其馀诉讼类别,其分担费比率则由15%至20%不等。

相比於截至二○一三年九月三十日年度的50万元亏损,法律援助辅助计划基金於截至二○一四年九月三十日的年度录得40万元盈馀。截至二○一四年九月三十日,基金的结馀为1.868亿元(详情见附录1)。

 

二○一三至二○一四年接获的民事法律援助申请的分佈情况

 
 

二○一三至二○一四年批出的民事法律援助證书的分佈情况


 
  毛旭华女士
法律援助署助理署长
(申请及审查)

 
为方便市民申请法援,申请及审查科透过辖下的谘询及申请组提供资讯和查询服务。该组负责处理公众对法律援助範围、财务资格限额及申请程序的查询。年内,该组共接获38 208项查询。
 

申请资格

申请人不论国籍或居住地,只要通过经济审查及案情审查便可获批法援。本署会提供律师或大律师(如情况需要),代表他们在香港法院进行诉讼。
 
二○一三至二○一四年实际接受民事法律援助的比率
 
 
  黄瑶明女士
助理首席法律援助律师/
申请及审查(1)

法援申请被拒

民事诉讼的申请人如因未能通过经济审查或案情审查而遭本署拒绝提供法律援助,可向高等法院司法常务官提出上诉。至於终审法院的案件,申请人可向由高等法院司法常务官,以及由香港大律师公会主席和香港律师会会长分别委派的一名大律师和一名律师所组成的覆核委员会提出上诉。司法常务官或覆核委员会的决定为最终决定。
 
二○一三至二○一四年民事法援申请遭拒的比率
 
 
二○一三至二○一四年就法援申请遭拒绝上诉成功的比率
 
 
  陈运杰先生
助理首席法律援助律师/
申请及审查(2)
 
二○一四年审结案件的结果
 
 
(括号内为二○一三年的数字)
 
 
  王耀辉先生
助理首席法律援助律师
(九龙分署)
 

刑事法律援助

刑事诉讼的法律援助申请由刑事组审批。

 
二○一三至二○一四年接获的刑事法律援助申请的案件分佈情况
 
 
如申请人的财务资源超过法定限额,但法律援助署署长认为给予申请人法律援助有助维护司法公正,申请人仍可获批法援。
 
二○一三至二○一四年批出的刑事法律援助證书的案件分佈情况
 
 
二○一三至二○一四年实际接受刑事法律援助的比率
 
  陈爱容女士
法律援助署副署长
(诉讼)
 

法援申请被拒

如申请人因未能通过案情审查而遭本署拒绝提供法援,只要能够通过经济审查,申请人可向法官提出申请,法官可自行给予申请人法律援助。

年内,未能通过经济审查的申请有12宗,全部12宗亦同时未能通过案情审查。此外,有24宗申请的申请人财务资源超过限额,但法律援助署署长运用酌情权,向该等申请人提供法律援助。另有26宗申请因申请人未能向法律援助署署长提供经济审查所需的资料而遭拒绝。
 
  张淑凝女士
法律援助署助理署长
(诉讼)
 
向终审法院提出上诉的申请人如遭本署拒绝提供法援,可向由高等法院司法常务官出任主席,以及由香港大律师公会主席和香港律师会会长分别委派的一名大律师和一名律师所组成的覆核委员会提出上诉。委员会的决定为最终决定。年内,没有申请人向覆核委员会提出上诉。
 
二○一三至二○一四年刑事法援申请遭拒的比率
 
 
  吴咏萍女士
助理首席法律援助律师
(刑事)
 

法律援助电子服务入门网站

凡年满18岁人士,均可就非紧急的民事及刑事案件在网上提交“预办申请所需资料”,作为办理法援申请的初步程序。申请人须持有香港邮政或电子核證服务有限公司发出的数码證书,才可在网上提交资料,以确保在网上传送的资料均予保密处理。

法律援助电子服务入门网站亦设有经济审查计算程式,市民可利用该程式初步评估本身的经济状况是否符合申请法援的资格。市民如欲使用经济审查计算程式,可浏览本署网页www.lad.gov.hk或使用手机版程式。年内,入门网站的经济审查计算程式和手机版的经济审查计算程式的点击率分别达5 391次和4 346次。
 

法援案件的委派及监察

外判案件

本署不是以平均委派的形式把案件分配予大律师或律师,而是以受助人的利益为依归。本署在委派大律师或律师办理法律援助案件时,会视乎他们的经验和专长、案件的性质及案情的複杂程度,并按既定的指引及準则,包括执业律师至少需要具备的经验、过往处理案件表现的记录,以及接办法援案件的数目没有超出限额等,从法律援助律师名册中挑选。
 

二○一四年委派外委律师/大律师办理的民事及刑事案件的分佈情况

 
 
 
本署成立的监察外判个案委员会,是为确保外判的法援案件按既定的外判準则及指引交予外委律师办理。该委员会由法律援助署署长担任主席,成员包括部门首长级人员。委员会的工作包括审视有关外委律师工作表现/行为操守欠佳的报告。

年内,根据委员会的建议,有11名律师被列入工作表现/行为操守欠佳记录册内。

本署委派法援案件是以法律援助律师名册上的律师在过去三年的经验作依据,为了维持外判个案制度有效运作,本署继在去年更新律师名册後,将安排提升个案管理及个案会计系统的功能,提醒名册上的律师在三年期限届满前提交更新资料表格,以确保他们在名册的个人资料、经验和专长资料得以定期更新。

 

法援诉讼的调解服务

法援範围涵盖受助人在法援诉讼中使用调解服务所涉及的调解员费用和相关开支。年内,共有953宗法援个案的受助人获资助进行调解,当中141宗属婚姻诉讼。
 

诉讼服务

署内律师办理的民事诉讼

本署诉讼科辖下的民事诉讼组负责处理委派予署内律师办理的民事诉讼。

 

人身伤害诉讼

年内,民事诉讼组辖下的民事诉讼第一组共接办200宗人身伤害索偿案件,包括僱员补偿申索、交通意外申索和疏忽申索。为受助人讨回赔偿超过100万元的案件有8宗,其中1宗案件讨回的赔偿为900万元,讨回的赔偿合计约为3,600万元。

就署内律师办理的法援诉讼,本署从中讨回的讼费约为480万元。

 
  谢士芳女士
助理首席法律援助律师
(民事诉讼1)
 
家事诉讼

年内,民事诉讼第二组辖下的家事小组共接办1 096宗家事诉讼案件,包括离婚、追讨赡养费、争取管养权和财产纠纷等。小组亦负责处理由署内律师办理的家事诉讼案件的强制执行判决诉讼程序,就有关案件追讨拖欠的赡养费及讼费。

 
  李自强先生
助理首席法律援助律师
(民事诉讼2)
 

追讨欠薪

民事诉讼第二组辖下的清盘破产诉讼小组办理由劳工处劳资关係组转介的案件,协助僱员追讨欠薪及其他与僱傭有关的福利。小组亦办理随後的清盘和破产诉讼。

如某宗个案有足够證据支持提出清盘或破产呈请,但就该案的情况而言,进行有关诉讼并不符合经济效益或不合理,清盘破产诉讼小组便会把个案转介破产欠薪保障基金委员会,由该委员会考虑发放特惠款项予有关僱员。

年内,小组分别提出53宗清盘呈请及3宗破产呈请。此外,有251宗个案转介破产欠薪保障基金委员会,以申请特惠款项。

 

署内律师办理的刑事诉讼

诉讼科辖下的刑事组除审批刑事案件的法援申请外,组内的律师亦代表法援受助人在裁判法院的交付审判程序中出庭、出席区域法院应讯日的聆讯、向原讼法庭申请排期聆讯,以及向各级法院申请保释。此外,在原讼法庭、上诉法庭及终审法院聆讯的案件,该组的律师亦会担任发出指示的律师。

年内,在香港区域法院聆讯的所有刑事案件中,有84.7%获提供法律援助。至於在原讼法庭聆讯的刑事案件,则有99.8%获提供法律援助。

年内,组内的律师办理的刑事案件合共有1 799宗:

 
 
  张英敏女士
助理首席法律援助律师
(法律及管理支援)
 
 

相关的法律支援服务

讼费核算

本署的讼费核算小组负责评定外委律师及对讼人提交的讼费单,以及出席讼费评定聆讯。

二○一三至二○一四年讼费核算小组处理的个案

 
 

强制执行工作

本署的执行小组负责处理强制执行判决诉讼程序,就法援案件追讨判定债项及讼费。年内,小组共接办287宗案件,有213宗案件须透过诉讼追讨欠款。约28%的案件是於组内律师接办案件当日起一个月内展开诉讼程序。下表显示由接办案件当日至展开执行判决诉讼程序所需的时间:


年内展开执行判决诉讼程序所需的时间

 
 

由於有些案件的判定债务人与本署商讨还款方法并提供證明文件,承诺分期支付欠款,这些案件在展开执行判决诉讼程序前或诉讼进行期间已获得解决。

下图显示在采取强制执行行动而於年内完结的案件中,本署讨回讼费及赔偿的比率:

 

 

回页顶
 
PDF File 繁體版 英文版