2013 Legal Aid Department Annual Report
Main Menu
Vision, Mission & Values
Departmental Strategic Plan
Legal Aid Services
Case of Public Interest or Concern
Customer Services
Publicity Programmes
Organisation, Administration and Staffing
  Chapter 6  
Organisation, Administration and Staffing

The Department has three Divisions, namely the Application and Processing Division, the Litigation Division and the Policy and Administration Division, each headed by a Deputy Director. The organisation chart can be found at the departmental website at http://www.lad.gov.hk/eng/ginfo/oo.html.

  Ms Alice Chung Yee-ling
Deputy Director of Legal Aid
(Policy and Administration)


At the end of 2013, the Department had 538 staff comprising 74 professional officers, 169 law clerks and 295 supporting staff which included 3 newly recruited Legal Aid Counsel and 13 Law Clerks.


Training and Development

The Department is committed to developing and maintaining a highly-motivated and well-trained workforce to provide quality professional services to our customers. Every year the Department arranges various general and professional training courses for our staff of all levels to equip them with the latest knowledge and skills needed to face the challenges ahead. The Training Unit, which is headed by a Senior Training Officer, is responsible for formulating, implementing and reviewing the Department's training and development policies and plans to meet the operational and development needs of staff.

Job-Related Professional Training

In 2013, the Department organized a number of job-related classes aiming at providing staff with the relevant work knowledge and skills to serve the public professionally. To keep our professional officers abreast of the changes and development in the relevant legislation and law, in-house courses included Update on Matrimonial and Employees' Compensation practice, How to Assess Bills of Costs, Procedures on Assessment of Costs and Introduction to the Anti-discrimination Laws were organised and attended by a total of 55 professional officers.

In addition, during the year the Department also sponsored 50 professional officers to attend external seminars covering various topics such as Civil Law, Arbitration in Ancillary Relief, Recent Changes to the Trust Law in Hong Kong, Commercial Crime – Dealing with Law Enforcement, Custody Issues and the Related Practice and Procedures, Road Traffic Offences, Update on Family Law, Handling Medical Negligence Cases, The New Competition Ordinance, Civil Justice Reform and Civil Procedure Updates, Legal Workshop on Data Protection, Victims of Sex Crimes; and Ex-Employees and Intellectual Property Rights – IP Issue in an Employment Context. Besides, 2 professional officers attended the Mainland Legal Studies Course held at the Peking University on the Mainland.


Management Courses

To strengthen staff's management capability, the Department organized in-house management courses such as Workshop on Performance Appraisal Writing and Seminar on Communication and Counselling Skills for Managerial Effectiveness. 27 professional officers were arranged to attend management courses organized by the Civil Service Training and Development Institute, Civil Service Bureau (CSTDI, CSB) and external institutes. Courses included Hong Kong Statistics for Business, How to be a Good Team Leader, Team Leadership, Ethical Leadership, Improving Public Services through Commissioning and Contestability, People Management in the Public Sector, Persuasion and Influencing Skills, The Art and Science of Negotiation, Leading Innovation and Change, Leading Strategic Change; and Building Resilience.

3 professional officers were nominated to attend executive development programmes organized by CSTDI, CSB, namely Advanced Leadership Enhancement Programme, Leadership in Action and Innovative Managers Programme.

During the year, staff also attended Putonghua courses to enhance their spoken Putonghua level for receiving applicants speaking Putonghua and delegates from the Mainland. A total of 25 professional officers attended the courses.


Training on Customer Service

The Department places great importance on nurturing a custom-focused culture. To enhance staff's skills in delivering quality service to the public, the Department, on an on-going basis, organizes in-house training courses and sponsors staff of different levels to attend customer service courses held by CSTDI, CSB and external institutes. In 2013, 51 staff members, including general grade staff attended the following courses:

• Communicating with Tact for Dealing with Customers
• Complaint Management
• Customer Service Skills on the Telephone
• Handling Customer Complaints
• Preventing and Handling Sexual Harassment Complaints
• Quality Customer Service
• Replies to Enquiries and Complaints
• Replying to Customer Complaints
• Sign Language for Frontline Staff

To promote staff well-being, an in-house workshop on Relieving Work Pressure with Acupressure Therapy was organized. A total of 140 staff members attended the workshop.


Training on General Subjects

Every year the Department will nominate staff to attend courses and seminars on general subjects such as civil service values, official writing, stress management, Basic Law, Putonghua, occupational safety and health, equal opportunities, information technology; and records management organized by the CSTDI, CSB, other departments and external institutes. In 2013, 155 staff members attended these courses.

Regarding National Studies training, 6 professional officers attended programmes held at Chinese Academy of Governance, Peking University, Jinan University, Nanking University and Zhejiang University.

Promoting Self-Learning and Development: In-house Learning Resource Centre

To cultivate the culture of continuous self-learning, the Department's Learning Resource Centre maintains a wide range of books and learning resources covering various subjects such as management, communication, language, national studies, personal development, positive thinking, stress management; and healthy lifestyle for loan by staff. In 2013, the Department further expanded the coverage of books on staff well-being by adding 70 new books to the Learning Resource Centre to promote work-life balance.

To facilitate easy access to self-learning materials by staff, resources on IT tips, use of Chinese as well as reference materials of in-house training courses were uploaded onto the departmental portal. Staff can also have direct access to CLC Plus, the e-learning portal for all civil servants, which contains a great variety of self-learning resources, toolkits and job aids on management, language, communication; and information technology. As at end of 2013, 263 staff members have registered as CLC Plus members.


Information Systems

The Department places great importance to update its IT infrastructure and office automation facilities to facilitate prompt and efficient delivery of legal aid services to the public.

The Department's Case Management and Case Accounting System (CM&CAS) supports over 500 staff users in handling day-to-day legal aid business processes such as processing applications and handling legal aid payments. In 2013, the CM&CAS was further enhanced to facilitate costing staff to submit declaration of conflict of interest electronically.

The Legal Aid Electronic Services Portal (LAESP) which was launched in 2008 provides an online gateway through which members of the public and panel lawyers can gain access to information and transact certain legal aid business with the Department online.

Members of the public can access the LAESP to download and submit legal aid pre-application information forms to the Department as a first step towards making an application for legal aid. The means test calculator and its mobile version which provide potential applicants a preliminary assessment of their financial eligibility for legal aid had 3 006 and 3 259 hits in 2013 respectively.

To enhanced e-communication with panel lawyers, the Department has since March 2013 replaced the requirement of digital certificate with user ID and individual passwords for panel lawyers to submit certain case reports and data update forms to our Portal. We had also conducted a review on the user interface of the system to enhance user friendliness. The enhancement is targeted to be implemented in 2014.

Taking into account technological development, the Department had upgraded the operating system, hardware and software of the Departmental Portal and the Electronic Mail System. The upgrade for the LAESP hosting platform, Office Automation facilities and the Virtual Private Network had commenced and is expected to complete in 2014.

  Ms Juliana Chan Oi-yung
Assistant Director of Legal Aid
(Policy and Development)

Staff Relations and Communication

The Department maintains effective communication with staff through regular meetings with various staff representative bodies such as the Departmental Consultative Committees, the Law Clerks Association and the Legal Aid Counsel Association. As a result of discussion at these meetings, improvements were made in areas such as office accommodation, streamline of working procedures, indoor air quality and human resources planning.

The Director of Legal Aid visited each section regularly throughout the year with a view to exchanging ideas with staff of all levels including professionals and received their views on work arrangements and procedures for further review and improvement. Divisions/Sections continued to implement their respective internal communication strategies in consultation with staff. Informal meetings were also held between the Deputy Director of Legal Aid (Policy and Administration) and Senior Law Clerks I and II and general grades staff regularly to collect their views on work and to explore areas for improvement. The Department continued to publish staff newsletter three times a year to keep staff abreast of development in the Department, to promote their sense of belonging and to enhance communication.


Staff Welfare

The Department values the general well-being of its staff. The objective of the Staff Club, which was formed in 1988, is to promote staff welfare by organising a wide range of activities and to bring about opportunities where staff can meet and interact whilst engaging in relaxing and enriching activities.

To provide staff with opportunities to keep a healthy balance between work and relaxation, Yoga classes together with an excursion to the Hong Kong Geopark in Sai Kung were organized. Recreational activities including the Annual Dinner and mini bazaars to celebrate Chinese New Year, Dragon Boat Festival and Mid-Autumn Festival were also held. Interest classes held such as dessert making and bakery classes were very popular among staff.

During the year, the Volunteer Service Group which was formed in 2002 to encourage staff participation in volunteer services, participated in various fund raising activities such as the Rice Selling Campaign organised by Oxfam Hong Kong, MSF Day Fund Raising Campaign organised by Medecins Sans Frontieres, World Sight Day organised by ORBIS Hong Kong and the Chinese New Year Gift Transfer Program organised by St James' Settlement (People's Food Bank). 50 scarves knitted by colleagues were also donated to St James' Settlement. It was worth mentioning that the Department attained the 2nd Top Fund-raiser Award in the Civil Service Category of Dress Casual Day organized by The Community Chest.

Environmental Initiatives

The Department is committed to ensuring its operations and activities are conducted in an environmentally responsible manner. The Department makes efforts to minimise waste, conserve energy, promote "reuse" and "recycle" of resources and enhance staff awareness and participation in protecting the environment.

The Department undertakes regular reviews to ensure that the use of its resources is in an efficient and green manner. Details of the Department's environmental initiatives in 2013 can be found in the Department's Environmental Report at the departmental website http://www.lad.gov.hk/eng/ppr/publication/enr.html.


Internal Audit

The Internal Audit Section ("IAS") is an independent team established to assist management to ensure that adequate control procedures and systems are in place to safeguard the Department's assets. It also carries out reviews of the various activities of the Department in order to ensure an economical, efficient and effective use of the Department's financial, human and other resources.

During the year, IAS reviewed the administration of the criminal legal aid fees system and the utilization of office equipment. It also carried out audits on the use of the Integrated Registration Information System provided by the Land Registry for conducting land searches in legal aid cases and performed periodical checks on means investigation reports, petty cash, imprest, etc.


Support Service to the Legal Aid Services Council

Legal Aid Services Council ("LASC") is a statutory body set up under the Legal Aid Services Council Ordinance, Cap. 489 to oversee the provision of legal aid services. The LASC is responsible for advising the Chief Executive on matters of policy relating to legal aid. The LASC is chaired by a non-official who is not a professional lawyer. There are a total of 10 members comprising the Director of Legal Aid, representatives of the two legal professional bodies and lay members chosen from other fields. Representatives of the Department attend meetings of the Council and its Interest Groups and participate in its activities in promoting public awareness and understanding of the role of the Council and its relationship with the Department.

During the year, the Department provided the Council with regular progress reports and information papers on different aspects of legal aid services, such as the Annual Review of Financial Eligibility Limits of Legal Aid Applicants, the Biennial Review of Criminal Legal Aid Fees and the proposed declaration system for assignment of nominated lawyers in legally aided cases.

Back to Top
PDF File 繁體版 简体版

2013 法律援助署年報
2013 法 律 援 助 署 年 報
列 印
主 頁
抱 負 、 使 命 及 信 念
序 言
部 門 策 略 計 劃
法 律 援 助 服 務
公 眾 關 注 的 法 援 案 件
顧 客 服 務
宣 傳 工 作
組 織 、 行 政 及 職 員 編 制
附 錄
     
  第六章  
組織、行政及職員編制
 

本署由三個科別組成,即申請及審查科、訴訟科和政策及行政科,各由一名副署長掌管。有關本署的組織圖,可瀏覽本署網頁http://www.lad.gov.hk/chi/ginfo/oo.html

 
  鍾綺玲女士
法律援助署副署長
(政務)
 

職員編制

截至二○一三年年底,本署共有職員538名,包括74名律師、169名律政書記及295名輔助人員,當中3名法律援助律師和13名律政書記屬新聘人員。

 

培訓與發展

本署致力培養並維繫一支精益求精及訓練有素的工作隊伍,為顧客提供優質的專業服務。本署每年為各級人員舉辦多項一般及專業培訓課程,以期他們可掌握所需的最新知識和技巧,應對未來的挑戰。訓練組由一名高級訓練主任掌管,負責制訂、推行及檢討本署的培訓和發展政策與計劃,以配合部門的運作和員工發展需要。
 
與工作相關的專業培訓
 
年內,本署舉辦了多個與工作相關的課程,向員工講授有關的工作知識和技巧,使他們能夠以專業的態度服務市民。為使部門的律師掌握相關法例的轉變和最新發展,本署舉辦了多個內部課程,包括婚姻訴訟及僱員補償申索的最新資訊、如何評定訟費及訟費評定程序簡介會,以及簡介反歧視法例講座,共有55名律師參加上述課程。
 
年內,本署亦資助50名律師參加外間機構舉辦的專業講座,講座主題包括民事法、附屬濟助的仲裁、香港信託法律的最新變革、商業罪案─執法的處理、管養事宜和相關實務及程序、道路交通罪行、家事法新知、處理醫療疏忽個案、新《競爭條例》、民事司法制度改革及民事訴訟程序的最新資訊、資料保障法律研習班、性罪行受害人及前僱員與知識產權─僱傭關係中的知識產權問題。此外,本署2名律師參加了北京大學舉辦的內地法律制度研習班。
 

管理課程

為提升員工的管理能力,本署舉辦了內部管理課程,包括評核報告撰寫工作坊和提升管理成效的溝通及輔導技巧講座。本署亦安排27名律師參加由公務員事務局轄下公務員培訓處及外間培訓機構舉辦的管理課程,包括香港統計在商業上的應用、如何成為出色的團隊領袖、團隊領導、誠信領導、透過委託及競逐改善公共服務、公營機構的人才管理策略、感染及說服技巧、談判的藝術與科學、領導創新變革、領導推行策略性變革及提升抗逆能力。

本署提名了3名律師參加由公務員培訓處舉辦的行政人員發展課程,包括高層領導培訓課程、公共行政領袖實踐課程及創意管理人員課程。

年內,本署員工亦修讀普通話課程,以提升普通話的口語能力,有助接見說普通話的申請人及到訪的內地代表團。本署共有25名律師修讀普通話課程。

 

顧客服務培訓

本署一向注重培養以客為本的服務文化。為提升員工的技巧,向市民提供優質服務,本署繼續舉辦內部訓練課程和提名及資助各級員工參加由公務員培訓處及外間培訓機構舉辦的顧客服務課程。

年內,本署有51名員工(包括一般職系人員)參加了下述課程:

• 與顧客溝通的良好技巧
• 管理投訴
• 電話上的顧客服務技巧
• 處理顧客投訴
• 預防及處理性騷擾投訴
• 優質顧客服務
• 回覆查詢及投訴信的寫作技巧
• 回覆顧客投訴的撰寫技巧
• 為前線人員而設的手語培訓

本署亦舉辦了“穴按愈輕鬆”內部工作坊,以促進員工的身心健康,共有140名員工參加。

 

一般培訓課程

本署每年均提名員工參加公務員培訓處、其他部門及外間培訓機構舉辦的課程和研討會,內容包括公務員應有的基本信念、公文寫作、壓力管理、《基本法》、普通話、職業安全與健康、平等機會、資訊科技及檔案管理。年內,本署有155名員工參加有關課程。

至於國家事務培訓,本署有6名律師參加國家行政學院、北京大學、暨南大學、南京大學及浙江大學開辦的課程。


推動自我學習和發展:署內的學習資源中心

本署致力推廣員工持續自學進修的文化。署內的學習資源中心備有多元化的書籍及學習資源,涵蓋管理、傳意、語文、國家事務、個人發展、正向思維、壓力管理及健康生活等範疇,供員工借閱使用。年內,本署為學習資源中心添置了70本關於促進身心健康主題的新書,以推廣工作與生活均衡的信息。

為方便員工取用自學材料,本署把關於使用資訊科技的貼士、使用中文的學習資源,以及內部培訓課程的參考資料上載部門內部入門網站。此外,員工亦可登入專為公務員而設的網上學習平台—公務員易學網,內備大量各類自學材料、教材套和與工作相關的參考資料,涵蓋管理、語文、傳意和資訊科技。截至二○一三年年底,本署有263名員工已登記為易學網的會員。

 

資訊系統

本署十分重視資訊科技基礎設施及辦公室自動化設施的更新工作,以便為市民提供快捷、有效率的法援服務。

本署的個案管理及個案會計系統支援500多名員工處理法援個案的日常工序,例如審批申請及處理法援付款。年內,個案管理及個案會計系統已進一步提升,以方便訟費核算人員以電子方式申報利益衝突。

在二○○八年啟用的法律援助電子服務入門網站提供方便的網上平台,讓市民和法律援助律師名冊上的律師取得所需資料,並在網上辦理一些法援相關事宜。

市民可在入門網站下載“預辦申請所需資料”表格和向本署提交填妥表格,作為辦理法援申請的初步程序。擬申請法援的人士亦可使用入門網站及手機版的經濟審查計算程式,初步評估本身的經濟狀況是否符合申請法援的資格。年內,入門網站及手機版的經濟審查計算程式的點擊率分別達3 006次及3 259次。

為加強以電子方式與法律援助律師名冊上的律師溝通,由二○一三年三月起,名冊律師只須以個人用戶識別碼和密碼登入入門網站,便可提交若干類別的個案報告和更新資料表格,無需再使用數碼證書。本署亦已就系統的使用者界面進行檢討,使網站更方便易用。有關的提升計劃預計於二○一四年推行。

因應科技發展,本署提升了部門內部入門網站的操作系統、硬件及軟件,以及電郵系統。電子服務入門網站的系統託管平台、辦公室自動化設施及虛擬專用網絡的提升工作已經展開,預計於二○一四年完成。

 
  陳愛容女士
法律援助署助理署長
(政策及發展)
 

員工關係及溝通

本署定期與不同的員工代表組織,例如部門協商委員會、律政書記協會及法律援助律師協會舉行會議,以加強部門與員工之間的溝通。經過職管雙方在這些會議磋商後,得到改善的範疇包括辦公地方、簡化工序、室內空氣質素及人力資源策劃等。

為了與各級員工(包括律師)交流意見,法律援助署署長在年內定期探訪各個組別,聽取他們對工作安排和程序的意見,以期進一步檢討及改善。各科別/組別亦會與員工磋商,繼續實施加強內部溝通的策略。副署長(政務)亦與高級一等律政書記和高級二等律政書記及一般職系人員定期進行非正式會面,收集員工對工作的意見,以及探討可以改進的地方。此外,本署繼續每年出版三期的《法援員工通訊》,讓員工可得知部門的最新動向、提高員工對部門的歸屬感及加強溝通。

 

員工福利

本署重視員工的身心健康。職員康樂會於一九八八年成立,目標是促進員工福利。該會透過舉辦多元化消閒和有益身心的活動,讓員工有機會聚首一堂,互相交流。

為使員工保持作息均衡的生活模式,康樂會舉辦了瑜伽班及前往西貢香港地質公園的郊遊活動。康樂會又舉辦多項康樂活動,包括周年晚宴,以及農曆新年、端午節和中秋節的食品及禮品展銷會。康樂會並舉辦多個興趣班,例如甜品、烘焙食品製作班等,深受同事歡迎。

 
 
職員康樂會於二○○二年成立義工隊,鼓勵員工參與志願服務。年內,義工隊參與多項籌款活動,例如由樂施會舉辦的“樂施米義賣大行動”、無國界醫生舉辦的“無國界醫生日”籌款活動、奧比斯舉辦的“世界視覺日”及聖雅各福群會眾膳坊舉辦的“賀年禮品轉贈計劃”。本署同事又編織了50條冷頸巾送贈予聖雅各福群會。特別值得一提的是,本署在公益金舉辦的便服日籌款活動政府部門組別比賽中,奪得最高籌款獎第二名。
 
 

環保措施

本署致力確保部門在日常運作和一切事務方面,均切合環保精神,包括減少廢物、節約能源、提倡資源“物盡其用”和“循環再用”,以及提高員工的環保意識,鼓勵他們身體力行。

本署定期檢討資源運用的情況,確保符合經濟和環保效益。本署二○一三年的環保措 施詳情,請參閱上載本署網頁的《環保報告》,網址為http://www.lad.gov.hk/chi/ppr/publication/enr.html

 

內部審核

內部審核組屬獨立組別,負責協助管理層確保部門的監管程序及系統足以保障部門的資產。該組亦檢討部門的各項工作,以確保部門的財政、人力及其他資源運用得宜,效率及成效兼備。

年內,內部審核組檢討了刑事法律援助費用制度的施行及辦公室設備的使用。該組亦審核了其他範疇的工作,包括運用土地註冊處綜合註冊資訊系統處理法援個案的查冊事宜,以及定期抽查經濟狀況調查報告、小額現款和預墊備用金的管理等。

 

為法律援助服務局提供支援服務

法律援助服務局(“法援局”)是根據《法律援助服務局條例》(第489章)成立的法定組織,負責監察法律援助服務。此外,法援局亦負責就有關法律援助政策事宜,向行政長官提供意見。法援局主席由一位非官方的業外人士出任,局內有十名成員,包括法律援助署署長、兩個法律專業團體的代表,以及從其他行業選出的人士。本署代表除出席法援局和其興趣小組的會議外,還參加該局舉辦的推廣活動,讓市民能更深入認識和明白法援局的角色,以及法援局與法援署之間的關係。

年內,本署定期向法援局提交進度報告,並就不同範疇的法援服務提交資料文件,例如就法律援助申請人財務資格限額進行的周年檢討、就刑事法律援助費用每兩年進行一次的檢討,以及就法援個案委派獲提名律師的擬議申報制度。

 
回頁頂
PDF File English 简体版